Hello people! Today is the 5th anniversary of my stupid internet content. Around this time 5 years ago, I released my first work, Agent of the Stars. I was originally going to release interactive fiction today, but I decided it would be better to develop it as 1 full product instead of a series like I originally planned, so it will be worked on some more. But that's not the point of today's post.

It's time for something new!

The Past 5 Years

Before I get on to the new stuff, I'll start with some mildly interesting information.

Over 5 years, I have released

All of this adds up to 53 releases total! While some of these are obviously larger/smaller than others, I think that's still pretty cool. Did I think I would make it this far? Honestly, I didn't know enough about myself 5 years ago to know. I'll save the details later.

My most popular of these releases (excluding the ones I didn't try to collect extra info for) is Get a Glass of Milk Because You Have To. I guess this is because not only does it stand out in the IGM community for it's walking mechanics and story, but it's also based on another game that also found success, albeit much greater than Milk Game's (that game being get a snack at 4 am). I would like to also mention Literally Watch Paint Dry since it seems that it's also largely enjoyed by my community.

My personal favorite just so happens to also be Get a Glass of Milk Because You Have To, but I also enjoyed The Snails quite a bit. Both had some interesting characters in them and are just dumb ideas that I like quite a bit. Most of what I have released are just dumb ideas. I guess that shows how far I'm willing to go for a dumb idea like a game about getting a glass of milk and prose about snails with guns.

I would also like to mention what I think the favorite character in the community, but I don't think I have enough information to judge on that.

Anyway, that's enough for the information. Now for the new stuff.

Big Changes for My Content

I'll be entering a new phase of my life in a few months with the start of my first semester of college. With that, I'll also enter a new phase for my own content as well. 5 years ago, I didn't exactly know what I wanted to do in life. I started creating stupid internet content though, for some reason I am unable to remember. It has sort of rolled into an interest in creating stories for people to enjoy. Now that I have figured out I want to continue doing this, it would be good time to finally set some form of identity in the space. This was something I've been planning to do a bit, and I thought today would be the best time announce my plans.

I'll be calling this the "Rylie Eric Rebrand Plan". It will come in some phases. Today starts Phase 1 of the rebrand plan, which is site updates. Below are the phases of this.

Phase 1 - Identity - Revamp for projects and stories page, new about me, possible Rylie Eric logo?

Phase 2 - Agency - Agent R (the current title of my 5th anniversary agent project), my first (completed) novel, possible new games in other game engines, Milk Game Updates? Literally Watch Grass Grow?? Site reviews???

Phase 3 - Magic - Untitled Novel about Magic and probably something else once I decide what to do with phase three.

Phase 1 is a major overhaul of everything. It will feature a lot of rewriting, as well as new writing through the new stories page (Now renamed to something different...). It will also change a few details in the Beans Street Supermarket Server and my other socials, but that's still to be decided.

Phase 2 and 3 will mainly just be the same content you all having been enjoying, except done in new and old ways. I mainly added these phases since I've been planning to use other ways of story telling and games outside of igm for a while now, and I want to try to see if it will ultimately work with my audience. That and I guess I have no clue where I'm going with this.

That is it for today. Originally, I was going to be more personal in regards to the past 5 years, but I changed my mind when I realized that it's not something I should discuss just yet. Perhaps in the near future I may discuss about some details regarding the past 5 years, but today is not the day. With that, see you all in a few days.

Edit (4/15/2024): Spelling and grammar corrections as part of the site redesign.