Hello people. Today is not friday, so here's a Creative Progress Report for April.

Why I Skipped March

It's simple. I didn't do anything.

Introduction

I finally released something! A first since I started this and a first in more than half a year (For reference, Milk Game released on August 24th of last year). More about it later, though. I also worked a bit on other things.

Progress on Main Thing (Untitled Novel About Things)

Nothing, but I did change a bit of a reference to it in Milk Game's eventual 2.0 update, as well as think up of a prologue.

Progress on Other Stuff

Worked on Milk Game. I finished adding what would be an ending (like the other 8). That's it, besides fixing a few bugs (especially that annoying one where buildings didn't show up) and adding a QoL thing.

GAME - Literally Watch Paint Dry

Spoilers up ahead!

So, what was it? Why make a game like it on this engine (IGM) instead of something like (other engine)?

First of all, I should answer the first question. This game was meant to be a joke game from the start. Jordan Sunlight (an online peer of mine) went up to me and joked about how there's no idle game (or game at all) about paint drying. As part of the joke, I decided to actually make one. For the second question, the engine didn't matter, so for the sake of the joke and my own experience in game making, I decided to use IGM instead of something like (other engine).

Somehow the game got serious quickly.

It wasn't part of the original request, but I decided to make it based off my own experiences with some friends, and how quickly they could become enemies (in beliefs). I choose the concept of transgender because the thing it was based off was literally on this concept.

I then made the game and later, wrote the story all in two days. On a different day (2 months later), I made icons and made finishing touches. During the entire 2 month period, I got some playtesters (All of which have been credited), mainly for proofreading. The end product ended up being the only 2 games in my own IGM game archive to feature a content warning and a decent game about paint drying.

It is safe to say that I satisfied Jordan Sunlight (except there's still a part of the joke that I didn't do, but that's a story for another day), however, I wasn't as much. It gave me this feeling that something isn't exactly right. It was the first major thing I released that actually got quite serious (There's the long lost story called Seven that I made, but it never went past 3 chapters so it doesn't count) and the first major thing of mine to feature a transgender character (Milk Game originaly was meant to end (by end I mean true end) on one of the characters coming out as trans to top off all of things that happened, but that changed to be different as I added more characters and changed release plans). This might seem weird, but I think I stepped past the line of no return with this. And honestly...

I don't really care too much about it.

Next Month

I didn't stay true to my word the last two times, so I might as well not say something I won't do.

But I will do this...

Annoucing... Project Love

What's Project Love? A love story of two people, I guess. I'll reveal details on this once it has more than a few lines (all of them were written this month). I'm only annoucing this really cause it might be important to the months coming, and a name would probably help me write these posts.

Thanks, and have a good however long it takes for me to write another post here.

Edit (5/2/2022): I fixed my terrible spelling.

Edit 2 (4/15/2024): Wow Rylie, you really didn't know how to spell your own game title. Grammar correction and Edit log changes as part of the site redesign too.